I’ve got hugs for you if you were born in the 80s!

“When i was young,” and “back in the day,” are sentences that leave my mouth which make me feel old! I’m only 28, (still 2years off 30 though ay?) :/ I don’t think we realise how fast the years go by. I realised i was old, i mean, older, when my nephews (14 & 15) began using slang in person & online, & i didn’t know what it meant! & i thought i was a cool aunt! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

So, rather than sit here & worry about hitting the big 30, i’m going to appreciate the fact that i was born in the 80’s! && grew up in the 90s! (: Back then, as a youngster i wasn’t glued to an Iphone/Blackberry worrying about relationships & my make-up like the kids today! Hell no! I was out playing & having fun. & i actually think that being born in the 80s & growing up in the 90s, we had it good!

Here are some things i remember, if you think of anything too, or something that you appreciated back in your day, (not necessarily the 80s) then feel free to share ๐Ÿ˜

Barbie dolls. I loved barbies! I had it all! The pregnant barbie, the house that lit up & made noises, the horse & carriage, the convertible with trailer, the salon etc. I won’t lie, i played barbies til i was about 13! I had a younger sisters & some younger friends. Or perhaps i was clinging onto my youth even then lol!

Playing outside. We weren’t glued to technology like zombies, we were playing outdoors. I was only allowed in the Grove, but had fun on the bike, skateboards, rollerblades and just sitting on the graffiti cable box talking to my friends, not a care in the World!

TV. It was the best! I grew up watching Barbie, Inspector Gadget, The Power Rangers, Kenan & Kel, Clueless, Sunset Beach, Dawson’s Creek, Blind Date of an evening, and films starring Bruce Willis, Arnie, Van Damne, Styllone, Seagal etc. Then The Matrix came along when i was 15 & the way films were recorded & shot after that just changed forever (:

Music. C’mon! Eminem was out when i was about 15 & he was the best even then & still is now. We had Top Of The Pops which was great. I adored the Spice Girls, Five, N Sync, The Backstreet Boys. The boybands back then were much better! My bedroom wall was covered in posters and i collected all the Spice Girl cards! Lol! Recording from the radio, my fave songs, with a tape cassette which i then labelled. My first ever CD that came with my new stereo was the album from the film Grease.

Magazines. Smash Hits, J17, Bliss, Sugar where reading about the stars and their life as a teenager taught me a lot. The celebs weren’t like today, it was all sweet pop girl innocents like Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera and Jessica Simpson. I still prefer them over the likes of Rhianna and Jessie J, any day.

Technology. My first mobile was a Sony Ericsson brick, no camera, rubbish memory storage & a chunky aerial but i still loved it. Then about 16, i had a teeny weeny nokia which was in fashion & it was the cutest thing ever. The Internet had not long came out & it was chat room forums & Faceparty! Lol! My sister had a mini camcorder that recorded in black & white, we’d make drama films with our friends, acting. It was fun. Getting hair straighteners & hair dryers for Xmas & beauty products was the norm, not X Boxes, Playstation’s & expensive games. Although the Atari and Sega was popular. Then Playstation 1. My first games were Jurrassic Park & Crash Banidicoot.

Celebrities. They were more like stars when i was younger, you could only see them in Magazines! You had no chance of tweeting them on Twitter or whatnot. Nowadays pretty much anyone can be famous for the stupidest of things. Reality stars, pointless talentless people only famous for having a famous dad, or dating someone famous. It’s ridiculous. I would have loved to know what it was like to idolise the likes of Elvis Presley, Marilyn Monroe, Audrey Hepburn and Sophia Loren. Inspirational and real stars!

Travel. A trip to Blackpool and Weston Super Mare or Rhyl with the girls was fun, now people as young as 18 are flying to Ibiza and Magaluf!

Books. I used to read Point Horror books, Stephen King, Mills&Boons, Virginia Andrews and Catherine Cookson in my teens. And my mom used to buy me Beatrix Potter books when i was really young.

Sweets. 1penny sweets, mix up’s of practically everything you wanted for ยฃ1 and my fave 10p crisps, Transformers, Space Raiders, Spicy Wheels etc.

Pogs & slammers! Anybody remember these?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ & playing kerbs, when you stand opposite another on a kerb & bounce a ball off the kerb to get points.

So, there you have it. Times have definitely changed. So what if they have Justin Bieber and 1Direction, where i honestly cannot name one song! :s I may be reaching 30 soon, but would i change the year i was born? And not experience all that?! No chance.

Saying which, i wish i’d experienced the party scene in the 50s 60s & 70s, sort of like the Dancing Dancing tunes & the blues nights, i bet that was amazing! And did the men really hold open doors like the perfect gentlemen? :p ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ‘

This entry was posted in everyday life, living situations, thoughts, my views, opinions, movies, old films, movie casette, TV, programmes, entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’ve got hugs for you if you were born in the 80s!

  1. Nanny Cool says:

    I’m over 50 and must admit I liked the One Direction film that I took the grandchildren to….sh don’t tell them. Lol xx

Leave a Reply

