10 Great Quotations from Writers about Work

10 Great Quotations from Writers about Work.

‘Hard work is simply the refuge of people who have nothing whatever to do.’ – Oscar Wilde

‘I always arrive late at the office, but I make up for it by leaving early.’ – Charles Lamb

‘Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.’ – Samuel Beckett

‘Work is more fun than fun.’ – Noel Coward

‘The brain is a wonderful organ. It starts working the moment you get up and does not stop until you get into theoffice.’ – Robert Frost

‘I like work: it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours.’ – Jerome K. Jerome

‘Anyone can do any amount of work provided it isn’t the work he is supposed to be doing at that moment.’ – Robert Benchley

‘I don’t do anything. Not one single thing. I used to bite my nails, but I don’t even do that any more.’ – Dorothy Parker

‘I work until beer o’clock.’ – Stephen King

‘When I was a young man I observed that nine out of every ten things I did were failures. So I did ten times more work.’ – George Bernard Shaw

Reblogged by: interestingliterature.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 Great Quotations from Writers about Work

  1. Thanks for this reblog. It’s good to be reminded not to take my writing too seriously. If the greats don’t why should I?

  2. glamorousbooks says:

    So true! I think we can all be a bit hard on ourselves sometimes. If i don’t get my word count done, edit’s up to date etc, i feel crappy. But we need to do the best we can, have breaks here and there & hopefully enjoy it more (:

    What genre do you write again?x

  3. sandradan1 says:

    These made me smile. Thx. And thanks for finding and following my writing blog. SD

  4. Reblogged this on Scratch & Sniff and commented:
    New outlook on work. I might need to start using these until I find a job I love! Um, Forensic Investigator!

Leave a Reply

